The Speaker and Deputy Speaker Race


A special sitting of the House is at Kololo Ceremonial grounds this Friday morning for election of the Speaker of Parliament following the demise of Jacob Oulanyah as per the Constitution.

The ruling NRM has fronted Deputy Speaker Anita Among and Government Chief Whip Thomas Tayebwa as their candidates for Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively.

Anita Among and Thomas Tayebwa


The opposition on the other hand has fronted JEEMA’s Asuman Basalirwa and Kioga County MP Okot P’Bitek Moses for Speaker and Deputy Speaker positions respectively.

Hon. Asuman Basalirwa                                   Hon Okot P’Bitek Moses