Badru Kigundu: Polls in Five New Districts


Voters in the five newly created districts will on Monday 29th 2016 (next week) head to the polls to elect their representatives in Parliament as well as district chairpersons, this come roughly six months after other districts all over the country had their MPs elected in the February general elections.
The districts, where elections will take place include: Omoro, which was carved out of Gulu District, Kagadi district, Kakumiro district, Kibaale district and Rubanda which was carved out of Kabale District.
The districts became operational on July 1 this year.
As the outgoing Electoral Commission chairman Eng Dr Badru Kigundu spoke to the press about the final preparations for the elections he emphasized that the commission will dispatch voting material this coming weekend.